guilty pleasures no. 1

March 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm 3 comments

i have quite a few guilty pleasures and i thought i’d share them with you.  we’ll go until i run out of things that cause embarassing happiness.  this could take a while!

first up: what not to wear

dear stacy and clinton,

i am totally in love with you and want to be on your show.  only i don’t actually want to be on your show, because that would mean that i have no style and don’t know how to dress myself.  instead i’ll just watch other people be humiliated and live vicariously through their transformations.  as i write, you are mocking someone for wearing sweat pants–and a fanny pack–out in public, which she does because “they’re comfortable”.  this woman also wears disney character sweaters to work.  and she’s 40.  it’s so much fun to watch you roll your eyes.

as someone who used to dress solely for comfort, i feel a little bit bad for laughing so hard at this poor woman.  but you taught me that comfort doesn’t have to be baggy.  or frumpy.  or just plain ugly.

i’ve learned a lot from you:

  1. fit is everything.  ev-er-y-thing.  that little tag with the size on it?  nothing.
  2. just because those pants don’t fit me doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with me.  it’s the pants, damnit!  it’s all their fault!  i can put them back on the rack with disdain.  yes!
  3. i may not want the world to be this way, but people will judge me based on how i look.  i want my clothes to say, “judge me based on what’s on the inside” not “i don’t care what you think”.
  4. looking feminine does not equal looking “girly”.  bye-bye total tomboy, hello sporty chic.
  5. i may not look like a supermodel, but i deserve to look my best.
  6. when i look my best, i feel great (especially more confident).

in short, you’re awesome.  you’ve changed my life for the better.  the fact that i just said that about a tv show helps to explain the guilt.  that won’t stop me from enjoying your fashion snarkiness.  but i will keep doing it in the privacy of my own home.

love,

amy

Entry filed under: about me. Tags: , , , , .

and the winner is… the birds and the bees…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marta  |  March 15, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    yes, i adore this show too. i talk about clint and stacy in daily conversations in fact! am happy to meet you!

    Reply
    • 2. Amy  |  March 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      Hi Marta,

      I love your blog and am sooo glad that I’m not the only one who drops my bffs names in casual conversation. It’s nice to meet you, too! You have an adorable little boy and I am super jealous of your craft space. It’s actually inspired me to clean mine up and get it organized.

      Thanks for being out there,
      Amy

      Reply
  • 3. guilty pleasures no. 2 « dogwood & poppy  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:50 am

    […] 16, 2010 last time, my addiction to the tv show what not to wear.  guilty pleasures #2 = watching the […]

    Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

share this blog

Share |

