a new definition of success

March 17, 2010 at 1:23 pm 1 comment

on this day of green–and in celebration of the abundance of spring that just seems to have burst forth in my backyard–i thought i’d offer a little reflection on success.

too often, we think of success as getting somewhere, doing something, or being someone.  usually a rich and famous someone.  someone with lots of green.  it’s easy to get caught up in this idea, and harder to slow down and be present.  what about just being here?  now?  being who we are?  doing what we love?

i know, easier said than done.  i’ve had some experiences in life that forced me to slow down, both physically and mentally.  part of my recovery involved taking a close look at my life and deciding what was truly important (because that’s all i have the energy for) and what i really want from this life (because that’s what keeps me going).  you don’t have to wait for something to happen, though!  take a moment today and reflect.  and then take the next moment as it comes.  and the next moment.  and the next…

Entry filed under: about me. Tags: , , .

guilty pleasures no. 2 sometimes, you just need to take a break…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  April 5, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Thank you Amy! A great reminder of what one should really concentrate on. This is one of my favorite poems. I wrote it down in a journal once in hopes of always remembering it. Of course, I forgot about it. Your post put it back to the front of my mind. Thanks!
    Lauren

    Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

share this blog

Share |

