transformation: skirt to dress

April 27, 2010 at 5:18 am 5 comments

i have a gorgeous ankle-length wrap skirt that i never wear.  so sad.  but i just haven’t been able to send it to the thrift store because my mommy bought it for me (aww…) and i wore it to the rehearsal dinner for my wedding (…shucks).  so it has memories.  plus, the most beautiful georgette fabric (and it’s already lined!).  the colors are so romantic.  but the length is just…dowdy mcdowdikins.  for lack of a better word.  so it just sits in the closet.

then inspiration hit me the other day as i was reaching for a t-shirt in my closet.  (cue clouds-parting-in-the-sky music).  i could turn it into a super sweet strapless dress!  i mean, how cute?!  flowy, sweet, and upcycled.  so far it’s just in the planning stages, but the goal is to turn it into a faux wrap dress with a little sewing and a zipper.  and a grosgrain ribbon waistband to help define the waist.

i’m trying to decide between simple, which has a fifties kind of a vibe:

or a cleaner, more modern silhouette, which would involve darting and a little side rouching.  more sewing, but i am leaning towards it anyway.

i realize they look almost identical in the pictures, but as someone who is very detail-oriented, they look totally different to me.  and how cute with a little jacket and kitten heels.  ta-dow!

i’ll keep you posted with updates when i decide on the silhouette and finish this beauty.

Entry filed under: fabric fun. Tags: , , , .

jammie pants for the delirious man of the day

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Hadley  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Holy cow, are you serious? This. Is awesome! Can you make one for me? Or just send me this one.:) LOVE the fabric. Makes me want to go thrifty for a wrap skirt.

    Reply
    • 2. Amy Hadley  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      PS. I find both equally cute, so in my world, I’d opt for the easier of the two.:) And can I get that fabric in wallpaper?!

      Reply
      • 3. Amy  |  April 30, 2010 at 1:50 pm

        thanks! the print on the fabric is the main thing that kept me from thrifting it; i would love to have it on the walls somewhere!

  • 4. phew! « dogwood & poppy  |  May 1, 2010 at 8:26 am

    […] actually plan on carrying this new philosophy through the rest of the year, beginning with some transformations of clothes that i already have in my wardrobe.  i’ll have to get some matching thread, but […]

    Reply
  • 5. Shari @For the Little Doll In Your Life  |  January 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    I think this turned out amazing. I wish I could wear something like that. Sadly, no skirt would ever be long enough to become a dress for my 6 foot tall frame. And you probably decided ages ago, but I like the second more tailored look.

    Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

share this blog

Share |

