happy mother’s day!

May 9, 2010 at 7:05 am 2 comments

how are you celebrating this special day?  my mom lives far away, so i had to send my love through the mail.  when i saw this cool message box tutorial by cathe of just something i made on the living locurto website, i knew i had my gift: inexpensive, handmade, personalized, and thoughtful.

for my version, i printed out cathe’s plain template on the back of single-sided printed cardstock.  the box is made to fit business card sized notes (2 x 3.5 inches), sooooo, here’s a hint: use a 12×12 sheet of cardstock and cut it down so it fits in your printer.  the 3.5 inch strip that you cut off the edge will give you 6 cards to use inside.  matchy-matchy and scrap-busting!

i took some pictures of how i put it together because it’s easier than it looks, just confusing at first.  okay, it was confusing to me, and i thought…hoped that i’m not the only one.  i promise it’s really easy, no mensa membership required.  hint: if you plan to add eyelets and brads for closures, you may find it easier to do *before* you glue the sides and bottom together.  it’s really hard to wield an eyelet setter inside a tiny box, let me just tell you.

as this was concocted during april, stash busting month, and, as i had foolishly promised not to purchase any craft supplies for the whole of april, i whipped up a few sentimental cards with stickers and stuff from the stash.  (don’t cry too hard: i used to work at a scrapbooking store and i’ve never had less take home pay in my life.  so the stash is extensive *and* in need of a little busting.)

i played off the pretty colors on the cardstock i used for the box and added orange for an accent.  (in the other box, shown in the first photo, i used turquoise as my accent color, both on the outside and inside.)  i pulled stickers and rub-ons in the same color scheme.  you could also embellish with buttons, ribbon, sewing on the cards…sky’s the limit!  then i wrote down a mix of sweet thoughts and memories with snarkier things like, “thanks for not selling me to the gypsies”.  yep, that’s how we roll in our family.  a few idle threats during the developmental years…

i closed the one for my mom with a piece of elastic (saved from a clothing tag) that i inserted through an eyelet and looped around a brad.  i helped my husband make one for his mom, too, which is actually the one i took pictures of here, and on hers we used embroidery floss and two button brads to make an old school office closure.  we embellished the outside of our boxes, as well. then sent our love via priority mail!

these great message boxes could also be made manly for father’s day or even used to hold a small gift.  they’re really just precious and tons of fun to make.  if you make one, let me (and cathe at just something i made!) know!  i’d love to see it.

Entry filed under: make your own!, paperie. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

makeover: sewing machine cover edition jujyfruit necklace

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kimmy0808  |  May 9, 2010 at 7:23 am

    personalized gift or hand made for me is priceless coz we made it with love and effort. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. Cathe Holden  |  May 10, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    This rocked my world. You took the box project to a whole new level. I love that you shared the folding photos, so helpful for everyone! One day I’ll attempt a video tutorial, this would be the perfect project. I know your moms were so touched by the sentiment. Gorgous. Thanks for sharing my project with everyone.

    Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


that's me with viola, my lovely model

visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

artists' theatre in west jefferson, nc

share this blog

Share |

