the people have spoken!

May 24, 2010 at 8:48 am 2 comments

recently i took a moment to look back through my etsy sales, in honor of reaching a little personal milestone of mine–30 sales.  woohoo!  if you sell your handiwork and haven’t taken inventory of your popular items, i recommend doing this.  it was eye-opening for me.

as i lamented to my husband, more of my sales have come from my bigger fashion jewelry than my delicate semi-precious pieces.  don’t get me wrong, i’m not complaining, it’s just that the delicate pieces are more ‘me’.  my husband reminded me–dutifully, as only a significant other can–that i had expressed this concern when first including my chunkier pieces.  basically: what if people don’t like the stuff i want them to like?  okay, you have to say it in a whiny voice to really nail this one.

i went back and forth.

i mean…i want to follow my passion, but i also want sales.  i believe that art doesn’t have to be pretty or popular, but there’s still rent to pay.  and then i read this etsy storque article by amanda steinberg of dailyworth.com.  the short of it: the important thing is not what you sell, it’s the plan behind the sales.

so.  my answer to myself after a few days–okay, a few weeks–of wallowing: wah.  sales were the whole point of starting this venture!  (i mean, other than having an excuse to buy more beads.)  but the goal of getting out there and reading up on how to do it right and working on branding and starting a facebook page and getting a twitter account: sales.  (turns out i like twitter, but i digress).

i don’t get to pick what other people like.  besides, i like all the stuff i make.  so *there* little ego.  and you know what one thing all my sales have in common?  i would love to wear any of them!  you all seem to like my favorites the best!

i can make what people want!

and i can still make what i want, whether or not it sells as well.  i think we can call that a healthy compromise.  after all that whining, the nutshell version is that you may notice an influx of larger pieces coming to my etsy store.

all i can say is, “you asked for it.”

Entry filed under: about me, studio news. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

gluten-free chocolate chip cookies on going it alone

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy Hadley  |  June 5, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Is this a good time to say, “I love the necklace with the branches!!!” ? 😉
    I also recently heard someone say your brand isn’t what you say it is, it’s what your audience says it is. Which, I think even figuring out what your audience wants is challenging and takes time, so way to go on figuring that part out!

    Reply
    • 2. Amy  |  June 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      thanks! it’s always a good time for compliments!

      Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

share this blog

Share |

