confession

May 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm 3 comments

hi. my name is amy. and i’m addicted to caffeine.

today i’m one week clean. {which probably accounts for my lack of posts last week} i have been addicted to caffeine for about 16 years. i’m taking it one day at a time–and it’s hard.

why?! everyone asks. for the love of all things holy, why?! well, i didn’t enter into this decision lightly, let me just tell you. i love caffeine, especially in coffee form, but i also love my sleep. i have wicked insomnia and it has been suggested to me over the years that cutting out caffeine entirely {insert groan here} might help. the jury’s still out as to whether or not that’s true, but i discovered some other interesting benefits to cutting out caffeine.

the best thing about ditching caffeine is that i am no longer beholden to it. i can wake up and go do stuff without waiting for my cup of coffee. i know, it’s not that long of a wait–mainly because the hubby is awesome and always gets up and makes the coffee–but it’s amazingly freeing. and you know what, i’m just as tired without caffeine as i was with it. so even steven on that one.

the oddest thing about going caffeine-free is that my depth perception is enhanced. {i know, it’s super weird, but i swear it’s true} last week i was having a conversation with someone and i was suddenly more aware of how their nose protruded from their face; how many levels of difference there were between their head and the background. it’s hard to explain, but it felt kinda like being high. and it’s a handy thing for an artist to have more acute perception.

yeah, kinda like that

so will i stick with it? probably. i told myself i’d give it two weeks. i can do anything for two weeks, i said. but i think i like being off caffeine.

{image here}

Entry filed under: about me. Tags: , .

mother’s day diy the downside of caffeine withdrawal

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leigh Bhe  |  May 10, 2011 at 6:30 am

    I have gone back and forth giving up caffeine, and like you I am no more tired with or without it. When my kids were little I simply needed it to function! But now, I have difficulty staying asleep, so I have cut my caffeine down to one cup of tea in the morning. The most difficult thing to give up was diet coke – now I can have it occasionally and it will not bring up super huge cravings, but it took about a month of being off of it to accomplish that! Diet Coke was like crack and I would only have one a day. I hope you get through this okay!

    Reply
    • 2. Amy  |  May 11, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      thanks! so far so good!

      Reply
  • […] so did not see this coming. one week off caffeine, i’m feeling good, […]

    Reply

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


that's me with viola, my lovely model

visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

artists' theatre in west jefferson, nc

share this blog

Share |

