grace

July 15, 2011 at 6:08 pm Leave a comment

i’ve never told you this {probably because i figured you’d stop reading right away}, but i consider myself to be deeply spiritual. not the ring-the-doorbell-and-try-to-convert-you or the picket-carrying varieties–and i promise never to beat anyone with a bible–but spiritual even so. just not real vocal about it.

there was a time when i would have talked of god, but i’ve always struggled with conventional religion. most of us who were raised christian have an image of “the big guy” in our heads: he’s a dude, he’s white, he’s sittin’ on some clouds. and then there’s the word of god, which was unfortunately written down by fallible humans, again all dudes. {did you know there was bloodshed and fisticuffs at the first ecumenical council of 325, when the nicene creed was written?} and i can’t get behind the eye-for-an-eye half of the bible. plus i’ve never really gotten the whole trinity thing. {i mean i’m willing to believe in the possibility of cylons, but one being inhabiting three entities? i mean, come on, that’s sci-fi.}

nonetheless, i do feel that there is something greater out there, i just don’t know what it is. it’s a presence, a life force, a call for us to be our best selves. i call it grace.

grace has been present in my life and sometimes i feel it intensely, like the time i didn’t come forward for communion and the priest {female!} came over and gave me a blessing and i actually felt grace flow into me. {yep, that’s how & why i became an episcopalian. well, that plus our congregation was racially diverse and accepting of gay folk.} sometimes i feel grace in quiet moments, like in the warmth of a child falling asleep on my shoulder. a few times i’ve tapped into it while doing yoga. sometimes it’s not such an intense feeling, but looking back, there it is: the grace that sustained me for the few years that i was a social worker; the chance meeting of someone who would end up having a profound impact on my life; the encouragement of loved ones to pursue a non-traditional career path.

it always brings tears to my eyes, and i guess that’s how i know it’s there. you could tell me that i’m just experiencing the release of a neurochemical. you could call me silly. you could beat me at rock paper scissors. but you won’t change my mind.

grace is all around us {even though it’s sometimes hard to feel}. do you know what i’m talking about? i’d love to hear your thoughts.

Entry filed under: about me. Tags: .

uncanny where has the summer gone?

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


that's me with viola, my lovely model

visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

artists' theatre in west jefferson, nc

share this blog

Share |

