hallow’s eve

September 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm Leave a comment

i should be doing nothing but preparing for the sew funky marketplace {it’s only 9 days from now!}. but while i was doing some legitimate, business-related shopping at joanns, i picked up some cheap costume satin and a few embellishments for the makings of a good halloween costume {all on sale, too!}. i thought i’d share the beginnings of my rather skanky cleopatra costume with you!

i think i'll be needing some double stick tape...

a close-up of the belt {trim + beads}

this necklace is a gift from my mom {it's even from egypt!}

with how cheap and shiny the costume satin is, i thought i should tone down the rest of the outfit. you know, so it doesn’t seem gaudy on top of skanky. i thought about gold trim for the belt, but it was just. too. much. shine. i like the fabric and beads better. and the necklace! my mom didn’t even know i was planning on being cleopatra; this necklace just showed up in my birthday box, freshly nabbed from a clothing swap. sweet! other than making the dress, the only other thing i need to do is make a gold arm cuff.

i plan on taking the hubby as my marc antony.

stay tuned tomorrow for a blurb about me on the sew funky marketplace blog, where i reveal all.

 

Entry filed under: about me, sneak peek. Tags: , , .

sweet & tangy fig preserves beauty in tiny details

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


that's me with viola, my lovely model

visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

artists' theatre in west jefferson, nc

share this blog

Share |

