my other job

April 9, 2012 at 2:02 pm Leave a comment

nancy sinatra style

when people ask me what i do, i tell them i’m a jewelry designer. kind of like dressing for the job you want, i figure if i just keep telling people that i make jewelry all day long eventually that’s what i’ll be doing. but as you know, bills don’t pay themselves. lucky for me i have the best. job. ever. i get to play with toys, read books, hold hands, and feed duckies at the park. don’t tell my boss, but i can’t believe i get paid to do this! {sure, my days are also filled with diapers, {occasional} crying, and boo boos, but those aren’t all that bad.} right now my boss is ten months old and sweet as she can be. she’s a calm and brave little explorer with more patience than most adults i know. she’s also very up front about her needs and may be even better at communicating them than some grown-up bosses i’ve had.

andy warhol // by ruth

i’ve always worked with kids in one capacity or another: in a classroom, as a soccer coach, or during my short stint as a social worker. {being a nanny is so far my favorite way of hanging out with developing minds, and it’s certainly less stress than social work.} what i’ve learned is that if you can see through their eyes, the world is a much more interesting place. kids are often seeing/hearing/touching things for the first time, and that discovery is pretty exciting. hang out with them long enough, and more wonder creeps into your life.

extract happiness // by beverly ealdama

and we could all use a little more of that.

images found here and here {both via jennifer brashear on pinterest}

Entry filed under: about me. Tags: , , , , .

lint & buttons: my personal stash taxes schmaxes

whatcha thinkin'?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


that's me with viola, my lovely model

visit my etsy store

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

stores & craft fairs

where to find me

artists' theatre in west jefferson, nc

share this blog

Share |

